Next event in:

  • 00 DAYS
  • 00 HR
  • 00 MIN
  • 00 SEC

IABC London Education Awards (Student Program)

2019 IABC London Award: Western University

Alicia Baertson, recipient of the 2019 IABC London Award, was presented with her award at IABC London’s Ruby Jubilee Celebration in June 2019.

Established in 1988 as the John Burke-Gaffney Award for Organizational Communications, this $500 award was renamed in 2007 and recognizes a Western University student who demonstrates aptitude and interest in corporate communications and public relations.

Presented annually, it is open to Western students registered in the public relations diploma program offered through Continuing Studies or communications-related courses in faculties of Arts and Humanities, Information & Media Studies or Social Science; Continuing Studies; or the Ivey Business School – in the 2018/2019 academic year.

Judging Criteria:

  • Minimum 80% average for the program or past year of study. The number of communications-related courses will be taken into consideration.
  • Overall interest in the field of business and creative communications.
  • Career plan as a practitioner in the communications and public relations industry.
  • Extra-curricular involvement, communications-related preferred.

Please note that the call for applications for the 2019 IABC London Award is now closed. 

The 2019 award recipient will be notified in May and the award will be presented on June 6 at IABC London’s Ruby Jubilee – an evening of laughter, networking and celebrating excellence to mark our chapter’s 40th anniversary.

Past Winners

Congratulations to:

  • Alicia Baertson, 2019
  • Jenna Fayad, 2018
  • Serena Quinn, 2017
  • Adam Veen, 2016
  • Julie Kiser, 2015
  • Lawvin Hadisi, 2014
  • Eamon O’Flynn, 2013
  • Carly Ekstein, 2012
  • Kaitlin Martin, 2010
  • Carolyn Schulz, 2009
  • Katherine Low, 2008
  • Joanna Magee, 2007

Canada Life Student Award of Excellence: Public Relations – Corporate Communications, Fanshawe College:

Kelsey King, recipient of the 2019 Canada Life Student Award of Excellence, was presented with her award at IABC London’s Ruby Jubilee Celebration in June, 2019.

This annual award is given to the highest achieving student in the Corporate Communication and Public Relations Ontario Graduate Certificate Program at Fanshawe College. The recipient will receive a $500 award. The College selects the student based on the highest grades attained during the intensive eight-month program.

Past Winners

Congratulations to:

  • Kelsey King, 2019
  • Caitlin Austin, 2018
  • Kelly Forbes-Wilson, 2017
  • Sasha Kristoff, 2016
  • Andrea Henderson, 2015
  • Jessica McGaw, 2014
  • Glen Morgan, 2013
  • Carrie Galsworthy, 2012
  • Janice Mills and Kathleen Morrison, 2011
  • Elyse Michaud, 2010
  • Sarah O’Neill, 2009
  • Sarah Carruthers, 2008
  • Linda Heredia, 2007

Canada Life Leadership Award: Public Relations – Corporate Communications, Fanshawe College:

Chantal Quagliara, recipient of the 2019 Canada Life Leadership Award, was presented with her award at IABC London’s Ruby Jubilee Celebration in June, 2019.

The recipient is a student who has strong leadership skills, is a team player, and demonstrates competency in all aspects of communication. The recipient is awarded a $500 award. The student’s peers in the Public Relations – Corporate Communications Ontario Graduate Certificate Program nominated the recipient and a committee reviewed and selected the award winner.

Past Winners

Congratulations to:

  • Chantal Quagliara, 2019
  • Lindsay Marcaccio, 2018
  • Laura Vere, 2017
  • Johnna Allen, 2016
  • Thea Boyd, 2015
  • Priya Das, 2014
  • Brenda Farhat, 2013
  • Megan Pasierbek, 2012
  • Chantelle Diachina, 2010
  • Alyson Young, 2009
  • Rosy Lopez Gross, 2008
  • Darlene Pratt, 2007

The Marketing Department (TMD) Award for Academic Excellence in Graphic Design, Graphic Design Advanced Diploma Program, Fanshawe College:

Kaitlin Arts

Kaitlin Arts was presented with her award at IABC London’s Ruby Jubilee Celebration in June, 2019.

Recognizing outstanding achievement by a third year student, this $500 award is presented to the individual who has demonstrated the highest overall academic performance in graphic design, selected by faculty administrators at Fanshawe College.

Past Winners

Congratulations to:

  • Kaitlin Arts, 2019
  • Sookeun (Lucy) Jo, 2018
  • Brooke Taylor, 2017
  • Melissa Williams, 2016
  • Andrea Wister, 2015
  • Rachel Swift, 2014
  • Sarah Rose, 2013
  • Kayla Watson, 2012
  • Frank Neufeld, 2011
  • Richard Modin, 2010
  • Megan Foerster, 2009
  • Kelly Kobarda, 2008
  • Danielle Lynn Robb, 2007

Echidna Solutions Award for Academic Excellence in Advanced Multimedia Design

Congratulations to:

  • Damon Muma, 2011
  • Serge Savchuk, 2010